Tags

, , , , , , , ,

YUM!

Look at these little guys!

My grandfather grew them.  Did you know what pattypan squash was?  My mom had to tell me.  She tells me all the important things I need to know.

When I first received these from my giving grandfather, I thought I’d treat them like a butternut or acorn squash – you know, where you curse and cut your fingers off and break nails trying to get the peel off?

WELL, this squash isn’t like that!

Even though it looks like it might be.

I was thrilled.  In addition to the skin being totally edible, it IS thicker than a yellow squash or zucchini, which I appreciated because those two vegetables tend to….die…when I try to roast them.

So, we have a texture that is a happy place between dead zucchini and diamond-strength butternut.

Helpful, huh?

So, this is easy.  The feta and mint combo….well, you’ve seen me use it time and time again, like with these gorgeous lamb-stuffed peppers, and it’s perfect here, too!

Don’t measure anything with this folks, you don’t need to!

Here’s what you need:

  • Pattypan squash
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • feta cheese
  • fresh mint

That’s it!  First, preheat your oven to 425F.

Wash the squash, then cut them in half.

Then, gently take out the little stem….

….and cut the squash into big wedges.

Lie the squash in one even layer on a big baking sheet or roasting pan – use two pans if you need to!  Sprinkle the whole pan generously with salt, pepper, and olive oil, then shake it around.  Add more oil if everything isn’t coated – you don’t want it to stick!

Roast the squash for 10-15 minutes until fork tender and golden.

While the squash is roasting, grab your toppings!  Crumble the feta and chop the mint.

Then, sprinkle the toppings all over the squash and let them cook for just 2 more minutes to soften the cheese.

Serve this with extra cheese and mint, if you’d like.  Perfect for a side dish, or on top of a salad with homemade vinaigrette….YUM!

 

