Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Are you searching to eat more whole grains and seeds and plant-ish things?

Me too.

I am going to write a letter to my congressmen and the CEO of McDonald’s requesting that more plant-ish things be converted to have the flavor, texture, and overall emotional feeling of a Quarter-Pounder with Cheese.

Until that happens, though, here is a great side dish that goes with ANYTHING!

Quinoa with Spinach and Pine Nuts

This isn’t really a recipe, it’s more an idea.  You can mix up the flavors any way you like!

First, cook some quinoa.  I cook mine in half chicken stock, half water for extra flavor, but you could use all stock, all water…whatever!  Just cook it like the package says.

While the quinoa is cooking, gather some mix-ins.  Mine were SO simple.  I used toasted pine nuts, 2 huge handfuls of spinach, and some green onions.

How lovely and fresh is that?  You could use other nuts, grated cheese, fresh herbs, other greens….anything you like!

When the quinoa is cooked, fold in your mix-ins with the heat on low and let the veggies wilt and heat through for a minute or two.  Add a drizzle of olive oil and some salt and pepper, taste, and adjust.

I hate that I’m not offering you more, here, but that’s it!  Serve this with your favorite dinner, and relish in all the goodness that you’re eating.

What, you ask, is that plated with it?

That, my friends is salmon with avocado cream sauce.  It isn’t gross, and I’ll tell you about it coming up next!

