Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This is super duper delicious, and EASY.

I found it on Facebook via Pinterest via my friend Dani from high school in Tokyo who I haven’t spoken to in 10 years.

Isn’t the internet great?

I like that I eat the same foods as people I never talk to, and then share that with the rest of the world.

Anyway.  Grapefruit is delicious and cheap and healthy, so why not prepare it HOT with some sexy spices?

I knew you’d want to try it.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • grapefruit – 1/2 per person is fine!
  • butter
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • allspice
  • ground ginger

All the spices can be used together, or you can just you use a few – it depends on your preference.

When you’re ready to make the grapefruit, preheat your broiler pan to high.

First, cut the grapefruit in half.  Then, using a small knife, carefully cut the grapefruit around the white segments so that once it’s broiled you can remove it easily to eat!

You don’t have to do this, but it’s nice to make it easier to scoop out the grapefruit once it’s hot.

Now, sprinkle about a teaspoon (more more, if you like sugar) of brown sugar on each grapefruit.

Then, lightly sprinkle a bit of each spice onto the grapefruit – just a teeny shake of each one!

Yum!  Now, top each grapefruit with a small pat of butter – skip this if you’re counting calories!

Nice.  Note the fancy rusty cake pan that I have my grapefruit in.  Nice, huh?

Place the grapefruit under the broiler for 10-5 minutes until the sugar starts to form a crust and the grapefruit is nice and warm.

And that’s it!  Serve these in bowls with spoons and NAPKINS, and enjoy!

Ignore the parsley on this picture – it was in my dinner right before I made these.

Sigh.

