Tags

, , , , ,

Does your family have anything weird like our spaghetti with cottage cheese that is just SO delicious?
s
We have that, and chicken.
s
Marinated grilled chicken, to be precise.
s
It’s incredibly complex.
s
Basically, my dad gets out lots of salty/sugary/vinegary spices, condiments, and sauces, mixes them together, marinates chicken, grills it, and eats it.
s
Seriously.  I served this at Robert’s Baby Shower last weekend and when people said “ohhhhhhh how did you make this?”  I had nothing to say other than “um, the 4-year old ketchup really makes the dish.”
s
Cool.  Very cool.
s
Anyway, I’ve been making this for years, per my father’s (lack of) instructions, and this time I measured everything so I could share the 4-year old ketchup masterpiece with you, dear friends!
s
First, you will need some chicken and a lot of crap.  Chicken tenders, bone-in, skin on parts, boneless, WHATEVER!
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup vinegar – apple cider, champagne, white, red wine…..seriously.  Go nuts.
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 6 garlic cloves

Sometimes I add some mustard too, which adds a nice thickness to the marinade, but you can do whatever you want.

I vary this lots, but the above portions will give you lots of marinade and a great flavor.

Fresh herbs are a nice addition, too!

So, you dump the liquids all into a bowl, and whisk them together.  Duh.

Then taste it!  It should be tangy, but if the vinegar is overwhelming add some more honey, sugar, and salt.

For the garlic, whack the cloves with the back of your knife, remove the skins, and dump them into the marinade too!

Nice.  Now, for this, I was making 4 bags of frozen chicken tenders.  I marinated them for about 7 hours, and that was perfect.  Overnight or for 2 days is best for larger pieces of chicken – flavor is good!

I ladled the marinade into several large bags, then put the chicken inside and let the chicken marinate in the sealed bags in the fridge.

Ewwwww raw chicken!  Not really.

When I was ready to cook the chicken I skewered each piece on a bamboo skewer since I was serving these at a party – like you should be doing this Sunday for the Super Bowl!

You can skip the skewers, though.  The point of this post is the marinade.

The point is SO MUCH about the marinade that I have no pictures after this step in the process.

So, please envision chicken being grilled and eaten.  These tenders are perfect because they grill quickly – larger pieces clearly take more time, but it’s well worth it!

Enjoy this, and send me some pictures of COOKED chicken!

