Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As you know, we’ve been doing lots of tailgating and snacking.

We have not, however, been gaining any weight or feeling bad about our bodies.   We’re above that crap.

Last week Jay and I were going to different football games but both needed to contribute food, and I’d been wanting to make my own pimiento cheese for awhile.  We made a big batch and both took some, and it turned out great!

Pimiento Cheese

This is so easy – throw some crap into some cheese and stir.  Yay!  Here’s what I used:

  • 1.5 lbs sharp cheddar cheese, grated (1.5 of the big blocks)
  • 1 tablespoon hot sauce
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 small jar chopped pimiento peppers
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons minced onion
  • salt (optional)
  • cayenne pepper (optional)

Also pictured: hand soap, dish sponge, paper towels, rusty can opener, microwave cord. JESUS.

Mince the onion and drain the peppers WELL on paper towels – there is nothing tasty about soggy cheese!

Then, mix all ingredients together in a bowl.  I started with 1/4 teaspoon cayenne and no salt.  I also used 3 tablespoons each mayo and sour cream to begin with, then added a little more.
This will be hard to stir!  We’re making a spread, not a dip here.  The cheese should be the focus, not the sour cream or mayo!
I added more cayenne and hot sauce, because I love the tang hot sauce gave to the creamy cheese.  Spicy is better!
I have nothing more to tell you about this lovely, flavorful dip.  I’ve seen it toasted on sandwiches, served over burgers, as a topping for fried green tomatoes (insanely good), or served plain on crackers and baguette with pickles to go alongside.  You can’t mess this up!
