Tags

, , , , ,

I really don’t understand the point of making a delicious pasta sauce without bread to sop it all up.  It doesn’t make sense to me, and while I know that it isn’t the most health-conscious addition to a pasta meal, garlic bread just WORKS.  I like mine with lots of salted butter and herbs – it’s easy to make yourself!

I like baguette, but any loaf of bread you like will be just fine.  Bread, garlic, salt, butter, and herbs – you can’t mess that up if you tried!

First, split the bread in half lengthwise using a serrated knife – be careful!

Then, chop up one sprig of whatever herb you’d like!  Dried rosemary (1 teaspoon) works great here too!

s

s

1/2 stick butter for 1 regular or 2 demi baguettes is plenty – let it soften, then add in one sprig chopped rosemary (or whatever herb you have on hand), 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic paste or 1 minced garlic clove, and mash it all together with a fork.

s

         

Then, schmear both sides of the bread evenly with the butter….

Then put the bread back together and slice it into pieces….

Then wrap the bread in tin foil and stick it in a 375 degree oven for 20-30 minutes until it’s hot and melty and delicious.

I suppose you could serve this with a salad, but I’d much rather have it with penne with vodka sauce, comin’ atcha next.  Carbs like each other and should be married on plates and in your tummy.  It’s how I feel.

